MEETING MINUTES The City of Polk City **Goal Setting Work Session** 5:00 p.m., Monday, November 29, 2023 **City Hall Council Chambers**

A Council Goal Setting Work Session was held on November 29, 2023 at 5:00 p.m. at the City Hall

Layor and City Council Members Present:	Staff Members Present:
Steve Karsjen Mayor	Chelsea Huisman City Manager
Ron Anderson Pro Tem	Jenny Coffin City Clerk/Treasurer
Jeff Walters City Council Member	Mike Schulte Public Works Director
David Dvorak City Council Member	Jeremy Siepker Police Chief
Mandy Vogel City Council Member	Jamie Noack Library Director
Robert Sarchet City Council Member	Jason Thraen Parks and Recreation Director
Nick Otis City Council Elect	Karla Hogrefe Fire Chief
Jeff Savage City Council Elect	Cody Olson Building Official
<i>linutes</i>	

Tiffin, Iowa, City Administrator, Doug Boldt reviewed ground rules for the Goal Setting Session. He reviewed responses from the Mayor, Council and Staff regarding the City's Major Accomplishments and Issues/Concerns from the past year.

Boldt discussed the proposed Inititaives and Programs both short-term and long-term. The group clarified items and discussed potential revisions of the lists.

The Mayor and City Council voted on items to rank priorities.

The top five short-term goals included the identifying funding for the completion of the Regional Park Project, Downtown District façade improvement program, Library/Recreation facilities study, Third and Broadway traffic control, and competitive wages for employees.

The top five long-term goals included funding for the Police Station project, communication/marketing strategy for Polk City highlighting the bike trail connections, Commercial Development, construction of the Regional Park.

Boldt reviewed the Teamwork Responses. Council and Staff discussed opportunities for improvements.

Final Report to Mayor and City Council of the Strategic Planning Process will be available in January.

Motion was made by Anderson and seconded by Sarchet to Adjourn at 7:10 p.m. <i>Motion carried Unanimously.</i>		
	Steve Karsjen, Mayor	
Jenny Coffin, City Clerk		